Porter named 2007/08 Most Valuable Player
March 08, 2008, 11:28 AM AEST


WNBL Frontpage NewsSydney Uni

The Australian Defence Force Womenís National Basketball League (WNBL) is proud to announce Sydney Uni Flames forward Natalie Porter as the 2007/08 Australian Defence Force WNBL Most Valuable Player.

Following on from her outstanding season last year, Porter amassed a league high 566 points through 23 regular season games to average a league best and career high 24.6 points per game.

The 2004 Athens Olympian scored 10 or more points in all 23 games, 20 points or more in 12 games, 30 points or more in three games and twice netted a career high 41 points.

Her two 41-point hauls puts her in second and third places behind Belinda Snell (54) for most points by a Sydney Uni player in a single WNBL game.

Porter also tallied 109 assists at 4.7 per game (2nd in the league) and 171 rebounds at 7.6 per game (10th in the league).

She shot at an impressive 43.1% (209-from-485) from the field and was also named Nivea Player of the Week in Rounds 3, 11 and 12.

She also tallied five double-doubles and just fell short of posting a triple double on three occassions.  

Porter joins an illustrious group of past MVP winners, including Rachael Sporn, Robyn Maher, Trish Fallon, Penny Taylor and four-time winner Lauren Jackson.

The MVP award is determined by votes cast by head coaches after each regular season game, where voting for oneís own players is permitted.

Click here for Porterís season stats.

HISTORICAL: defencejobs WNBL Most Valuable Player
1982 - Karen Ogden (St Kilda Saints)
1983 - Karen Ogden (St Kilda Saints) and Robyn Maher (Nunawading)*
1984 - Julie Nykiel (Noarlunga Tigers)
1985 - Kathy Foster (North Adelaide Rockets) 
1986 - Kathy Foster (Hobart Islanders)
1987 - Robyn Maher (Nunawading Spectres)
1988 - Julie Nykiel (Noarlunga Tigers)
1989 - Kathy Foster Hobart Islanders)
1990 - Debbie Slimmon (Bulleen Melbourne Boomers)
1991 - Joanne Metcalfe Melbourne Tigers)
1992 - Debbie Slimmon (Bulleen Melbourne Boomers)
1993 - Alison Cook Melbourne Tigers)
1994 - Shelley Gorman (Sydney Flames)
1995 - Sandy Brondello (Brisbane Blazers)
1996 - Rachael Sporn (Adelaide Lightning)
1997 - Rachael Sporn (Adelaide Lightning)
1998 - Michelle Griffiths (Sydney Flames)
1998/99 - Lauren Jackson (AIS)
1999/00 - Lauren Jackson (Canberra Capitals) and Trisha Fallon (Sydney)*
2000/01 - Penny Taylor (Dandenong Rangers)
2001/02 - Penny Taylor (Dandenong Rangers)
2002/03 - Lauren Jackson (Canberra Capitals)
2003/04 - Lauren Jackson (Canberra Capitals)
2004/05 - Katrina Hibbert (Bulleen Melbourne Boomers)
2005/06 - Katrina Hibbert (Bulleen Melbourne Boomers)
2006/07 Ė Hollie Grima (Bulleen Melbourne Boomers)

Congratulations Nat!



Comment Guidelines: The SportingPulse Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we can also ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.