Club History


The Bulleen Templestowe Basketball Club was established in 1969 and after missing out in 1983 was accepted into the WNBL in 1984. Applications were prepared and presented by Jan Collinson, who remained the club’s delegate to the League for many years with her efforts being rewarded with a Life Membership to the League in 2001. Other workers crucial to Bulleen’s entry in the WNBL in the club’s formative years were Janice McLeod, Gary Turner and John Barker.

The Boomers first coach was Trevor Cook and the initial team included Michele Timms and Samantha Russell (Thornton) who both would go on to represent Australia with distinction in future years. The club first qualified for the finals in 1989 under the guidance of coach Paul Deacon and after progressing to the same stage the following year missed the playoffs until 1996 when, in coach Lori Chizik’s first season, Bulleen finished third in the regular season before bowing out in the semi finals.

Chizik led the Boomers to 1999/00 preliminary final, the clubs best ever result.  Cheryl Chambers took over in 2001/02 and has steered the club to two finals appearances, including the 2004/05 preliminary final.

The Boomers have called Sheahans Road Basketball Centre, “Boomarena" Templestowe, Keilor Basketball Stadium, Melbourne Entertainment Centre and the Veneto Club home before moving to their current home at the State Basketball Centre.

Since its inception, the Boomers have remained a Club based program however, the players and administration of the team has become much more professional and the presentation of the games has improved markedly.  The Boomers have a strong development program and have been instrumental in the development of some of Australia’s best ever basketballers, such as Debbie Slimmon, Samantha Russell, Karin Maar, Tammy Good, Gaylene McKay, Cheryl Chambers.

However, none have had a bigger influence on Australian hearts and minds than Michele Timms. Timms has have long been recognised as the most talented female basketballer Australia has ever produced. As a three-time Olympian, four-time World Championship athlete and Australian captain, she represented Australia with absolute excellence.

Still one of the most recognisable Australian athletes in the country, Timms was a pioneer for young Australian female basketballers – she was the first Australian to play in the WNBA and also had a successful career in Europe and the US.

In the mid 2000s the likes of Katrina "Froggy" Hibbert and Hollie Grima  formed the backbone of Boomers teams. Hibbert won back-to-back League MVP awards during the 2004/05 and 2005/06 season while Grima followed up her World Championship gold medal with the Opals in 2006 by being crowned league MVP in 2006/07 and then winning Silver at the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

Over the last several years, the heart and soul of the Boomers has been Club stalwarts Desi Glaubitz and Sharin Milner. Both have been rewarded with Opals squad selection and Milner is twice winner of the WNBL Golden Hands Award (2003/04 and 2008/08).

In 2009 and 2010 the addition of Liz Cambage, Rachel Jarry and Jenna O'Shea provided the final pieces to the puzzle and in March 2011 the Boomers were crowned WNBL Champions.

In 2013 the Boomers changed their name to Melbourne Boomers.